Sioux City to Merriman

On Tuesday, I drove along Route 20 from Sioux City, Iowa, to Merriman, Nebraska. At Merriman, I headed north into South Dakota, but that’s a story for another day.

In Sioux City, the Missouri River was flooded!

The Missouri River, flooded near Sioux City, IA

I soon was entering Nebraska:

Entering Nebraska

In Nebraska, as in Iowa, there were many fields of crops. A lot of corn. Also, amber waves of grain.

Nebraska fields

I noticed some interesting devices used for watering the crops, that I dubbed irrigation snakes. I wonder what they are really called (I hope snake is in the name, because that’s exactly what they look like!).

Irrigation Snake, snaking along the road

Irrigation Snake in action

And, for the first time in my life[*], I entered the Mountain Time Zone. I’m not sure why Nebraska is divided in half by the time zone, but it is.

Entering Mountain Time!

And I arrived in Merriman, the end of today’s Rte 20 journey:

Merriman, Nebraska, population: 118

More pictures from today are here.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sioux City to Merriman

  1. So far as I can see, they are just called “spray irrigation systems”, though this is sometimes modified with “high pressure” or “center pivot”.

  2. Pingback: Badlands « Maryland Math Madness

  3. Pingback: Merriman to Glenrock « Maryland Math Madness

  4. Pingback: Route 20 Wrap-Up « Maryland Math Madness

  5. Pingback: Rocky Mountain National Park « Maryland Math Madness

  6. Pingback: A Summary of My (2011) Summer Trip | Maryland Math Madness

Leave a Reply

