San Francisco

As I mentioned in my previous post, I crossed the Golden Gate Bridge into San Francisco for the first time after midnight. Then I crossed the Bay Bridge into Oakland where my motel was located.

The next day, I set out to see some of the city before our conference started. I saw some houses, mostly in variations of Spanish Colonial Revival style.

Houses in San Francisco

In San Francisco, you can see rows and rows of houses when you look out in the distance, because of the hills the city is built upon.

Houses on a hill

More houses on a hill

I went to the Palace of the Fine Arts, which is home to the famous Exploratorium science museum.

Palace of the Fine Arts, San Francisco

According to Wikipedia, the first Pi Day was celebrated at the Exploratorium, so you know I had to visit there while I was in SF!

A pi exhibit at the Exploratorium

I also saw the city hall, which was not far from our hotel for the conference.

San Francisco City Hall

With my school colleagues (who had flown in — they’re not crazy like me), I saw San Francisco’s famous Fisherman’s Wharf. We ate there, at two different restaurants, twice during our visit.

Fishermans Wharf

We saw the island of Alcatraz in the distance.

Alcatraz

And, from the Fisherman’s Wharf, we saw the sun setting over the Golden Gate Bridge.

Sunset and the Golden Gate Bridge

Another evening, we drove up to the top of Telegraph Hill, where stands Coit Tower.

Coit Tower, atop Telegraph Hill

Apparently, Telegraph Hill is so named not due to the (electric) telegraph, but instead because there used to be a semaphore tower that would signal at a distance to the townspeople by different arm positions [far-away writing, i.e. a ‘telegraph’], about the ships coming in to port.

From the top of Telegraph Hill, you can see beautiful views of the city.

San Francisco at night, as seen from Telegraph Hill

The Oakland Bay Bridge, as seen from Telegraph Hill

From Telegraph Hill, we drove down the “Crookedest Street in America”, a one-block section of San Francisco’s Lombard Street. Click that link to see a photo or read a description, as I didn’t take any pictures while driving Lombard Street 🙂

After the conference was over and my colleagues were on their way back to 115°-heat index Baltimore, I stayed in the Bay Area an extra day (it didn’t get above 75° my whole visit). I went to see Golden Gate Park that day, which you can see as the green area in the middle of this photo, down the steep hill from where I’m standing.

Hills of San Francisco, near Golden Gate Park

I saw a windmill and some turtles, and walked around about half the park.

A windmill in Golden Gate Park

A pile of turtles in a pond in Golden Gate Park

More pictures from San Francisco can be found here. Next post: Yosemite National Park

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “San Francisco

  1. Pingback: Pacific Coast « Maryland Math Madness

  2. Did u see the sea lions at Fisherman’s Wharf Pier 13? Did you go to In n Out burger? How was the chocolate?

    • nyates314

      No, I didn’t know there were sea lions!

      Ghirardelli had some good chocolate (at least the free sample I had). We made sure to stop at their store near Fisherman’s Wharf because our principal is a big fan.

      Didn’t get the chance for an In&Out burger — only saw one of their places in my whole time in CA–, though I did stop in at a real-California California Pizza Kitchen.

  3. I spent a few weeks in Berkeley & San Fransisco when I was 14 or so while my father was at Berkeley on sabbatical. It was the first time I was allowed to explore a city on my own, using public transportation. What a great time i had. Thanks for the excuse to remember that trip.

  4. Pingback: Yosemite « Maryland Math Madness

  5. Pingback: Summer Plans | Maryland Math Madness

  6. Pingback: A Summary of My (2011) Summer Trip | Maryland Math Madness

Leave a Reply

