Yosemite

My first major stop on the return trip home from San Francisco was Yosemite National Park.

I saw Yosemite’s granite cliffs, shown here above Merced River:

Granite Cliffs and Merced River

And El Capitan:

El Capitan

I saw Bridalveil Falls from a distance,

Bridalveil Falls

then walked up to its base, where I saw a rainbow:

Rainbow near the bottom of the falls

Here are the falls and rainbow together in one picture:

Bridalveil Falls with Rainbow

I saw Upper Yosemite Falls:

Upper Yosemite Falls

And hiked to the bottom of Lower Yosemite Falls:

Lower Yosemite Falls

Along the hike I encountered a blue bird very close to the trail:

A blue bird in the woods near the Lower Yosemite Falls Trail

Here are both falls together in one photo, taken from a rare vantage poiint where both can be seen through the trees and rocks:

Upper and Lower Yosemite Falls

I saw the sunset near Olmsted Point:

Sunset in Yosemite

The elevation upon leaving the park was almost 10,000 feet!

Elevation and distances at Tioga Pass

Before long, I was entering Nevada:

Welcome to Nevada

More photos from 7/21 can be found here.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Yosemite

  1. That “blue bird” looks like a scrub jay to me. They are common in California.

  2. Pingback: A Summary of My (2011) Summer Trip | Maryland Math Madness

Leave a Reply

