Pi Day Snow Day!

After a winter with no snow (no snow that’s stuck, anyway, there’ve been flakes in the air a few times), it’s a pi day miracle: a snow day!

Last night, when the call was made, we were predicted to get 6-12″, but with more sleet than snow, we’re on the low end of that range or a bit less. Here’s a joke I’m stealing from my friend Matt:

In honor of pi day, and with the extra free time of a snow day, I baked a quiche pi!

pi_day_quiche.jpg

I tried to arrange the broccoli in the shape of the symbol π (pi), which you can see if you look closely 🙂 I’ve outlined it below.

pi_day_quiche314

And, of course, I had to break out my pi cutter to slice it with!

pi_day_quiche_cutter.jpg

If you’re more ambitious than I am with your pi day baking needs, you could  try a “celebrity chef” pie, or Vi Hart’s Venn Pi-agram (she has both a dessert pie and a pizza pie version):

In Pi Day news, there have now been over 22 trillion digits of pi calculated! Hooray!

Whether or not you, too, are snowed in, have a wonderful pi day, and check out some of the following links!

Even though there are skeptics out there,

I agree with Cookie Monster:

Me love pi (and pie)!

1 Comment

Filed under math

One response to “Pi Day Snow Day!

  1. Pingback: PI DAY 2018! | Maryland Math Madness

Leave a comment